Uncategorized

“Because I can” pt 4.

BrianHi there folks!  I just wanted to give you a quick update on the progress of the socks.

This has been a busy week at work (we received lots of our new fall yarns) but I have managed to eek out a bit of time to keep the 14 socks going.

Thank you for all your comments and suggestions; it’s been fun to hear about how other knitters keep their projects organized.  As far as stuffing the yarn into the sock once I’m up far enough, well, managing 10  feet of cable and 14 socks is quite enough.  Add to that the weight of 14 full balls of yarn, and it may be too much.  The shoe tree arrangement has been working out well, and I’m pretty happy with that method, so I think I’ll stick to it.  Thanks for the suggestion though!  I may use that one when I’m back to knitting one pair at a time.

So far I’m finding it’s taking about an hour to knit a full round on all the socks.  For those of you thinking this is a quick and easy way to knock out your Christmas gifts…you may want to reconsider.  We’ll see if my time improves as I continue to trudge along. For those of you that are curious, I’m actually making the socks to fit me, so each sock is being worked on 72 stitches.

My goal right now is to be up to or past the heel when I get to sock summit.  Yes friends, skacel is a sponsor of the Sock Summit, thus we will have a booth to display our products and I will be working on the socks from time to time.  Please stop by and say hi.  We are always excited to see what you are working on.  And if you bring a printed copy of this blog, we’ll even have a special gift for you.  But come early – depending on the crowds, we may run out!

Here some photos of the socks in progress…

DSC01078 DSC01077

DSC01076 DSC01079

DSC01080 DSC01081

DSC01082

Prince Entrelac, DDS

4 thoughts on ““Because I can” pt 4.

  1. My fav. is the red and white socks… is that some sort of self striping yarn or are you being fancy in addiion to insane? 🙂

    LOVE it! let me know what yarn that is please 🙂 if I get that yarn I might even knit another pair of socks myself! (but definately not 14!!!)

  2. Hi Kyle,

    The yarn you are asking about actually is red, white and blue, it just hasn’t gotten to the blue part in the sock yet. The yarn is called Fortissima Socka Colori National Farben #1776 “American Flag FairIsle”. This yarn is 75% Wool, 25% Nylon. Check out our website to find a store near you. You can get this yarn anywhere skacel products are sold.

  3. I LOVE that you are doing 7 pairs! I am anxious to see them at the turned heel stage as well. How about another “because I can”? Double knit 7 pair socks inside each other? I don’t mean to put Ideas in your head, sorry. Best Wishes,

Leave a Reply

